Harry Styles is NOT the star of “Dunkirk”

A movie still from

Photo courtesy of Warner Bros. Pictures

I know he’s in it, and I haven’t seen the movie yet, so I don’t know if his part is of huge importance. But to mention only his name when talking about the film’s stars? Come on.

Yesterday I read an article about Dunkirk staying on top of the US box office on its second week. In one of the paragraphs, the writer said:

That was the only bit about who stars in the film. No mention of Tom Hardy. Mark Rylance. Kenneth Branagh. Cillian Murphy. Or even of Fionn Whitehead, the kid I keep reading about in articles about this movie. I’m sure I missed some big names, too, but at least I mentioned Hardy, Rylance, and Whitehead, around whose characters the three plotlines evolve.

I don’t know if AP wrote it, or if Inquirer edited it in. Either way, I think it’s irresponsible. It trivializes what the movie is truly about by putting the focus “star”-wise on one of the members of one of the most popular boybands ever, even though his is not a major character.

I’m sure he’s amazing in it. Even Christopher Nolan said so. And Hardy and Rylance most probably don’t care that they weren’t credited in a newspaper article about their film’s box-office success. But, to the Inquirer (I say them, not AP, because their editors should’ve edited that bit properly), please be more careful next time.

Despite my unnecessary violent reaction about that one article, I still love the Inquirer; I still think it’s the best source of news and intelligent opinion (about current events) in my country.
Anyhoo, watch Dunkirk, starring Fionn Whitehead, Mark Rylance, Cillian Murphy, Tom Hardy, and Harry Styles, in Philippine cinemas. I heard it’s best experienced on IMAX so make sure to watch it there.

Dunkirk, distributed by Warner Bros., is currently showing in Philippine cinemas.

Leave a Reply

