Scenes at the ‘Rurouni Kenshin: Kyoto Inferno’ premiere!

By Joanna Mendoza

Dedicated fans: Some of them waited for hours to catch a glimpse of their idols.

Dedicated fans: Some of them waited for hours to catch a glimpse of their “Rurouni Kenshin” idols.

I went to the Rurouni Kenshin: Kyoto Inferno red carpet premiere yesterday, and it was crazy!

That movie has very passionate fans. And I got to know some of them.

Me with "Rurouni Kenshin" fans (from left) Camille, Maddie, and Blessher.

(From left) Me with “Rurouni Kenshin” fans Camille, Maddie, and Blessher

I got there about 15 minutes before 5 p.m. By then, the bouncers were telling the crowd that the stars would start walking down the red carpet real soon so, understandably, the crowd was already thick… and really, really excited!

Fortunately, I was able to inch my way closer to the bars (that bar/gate thing that prevents us mere mortals from stepping on the red carpet). But before I could even breathe a sigh of relief, this guy decided to stand right in front of me.

KJ si Kuya: Just when I got close to the front, this guy stood right in front of me.

KJ si Kuya: Just when I got close to the front, this guy blocked my view.

Just as I was regretting not wearing heels, the fans started screaming. Director Keishi Otomo had stepped on the red carpet! (He appears in the frame at the 01:03 mark, and stands right in front of us at the 01:23 mark.)

 

Then came Kenshin himself, Takeru Satoh. And he stopped by our side first! (Forward to the 00:44 mark if you can’t wait. No judgement. I understand.)

 

Unfortunately, my side of the red carpet was very much still in Kenshin/Satoh mode when Emi Takei (Kaoru) walked by, and I wasn’t able to catch her on video. I got her bun though (00:01).

And then Munetaka Aoki (Sanosuke) started walking, looking all kinds of dapper and cool. He had the biggest smile of the four of them. And he looked the most relaxed. He was laughing, clapping, saying hi, and giving the OK sign. At one point, he pumped his fist in the air and shouted “Yeah,” throwing back some high energy to the fans. (This last one I wasn’t able to catch on video, but the laughing, clapping, and waving I did. 00:15!)

 

Once all four of them had passed me, I followed the fans as they tried to get closer to the end of the red carpet (we were right at the beginning of it). But when I saw that it was a losing battle (there were even more people down there!), I decided to go to the cinema where the premiere would be held, hoping to catch a cosplayer or two to interview. I’ll post that article as soon as the video is ready. My husband had to fix it, because I didn’t know that my phone was upside down when I took the video!

Rurouni Kenshin: Kyoto Inferno, distributed by Warner Bros., opens in Philippine cinemas Aug. 20, 2014. Its sequel, Rurouni Kenshin: The Legend Ends, opens Sept. 14.

4 thoughts on “Scenes at the ‘Rurouni Kenshin: Kyoto Inferno’ premiere!

  1. Pingback: A review of ‘Rurouni Kenshin: Kyoto Inferno’ | The Movie Clubbers

  2. Pingback: #KenshinManila: Watch the press con here! | The Movie Clubbers

  3. Pingback: Fangirling at the Rurouni #KenshinManila premiere! | The Movie Clubbers

  4. Pingback: Takeru Satoh returns in ‘Rurouni Kenshin: The Legend Ends’ | The Movie Clubbers

Leave a Reply

