5 reasons I somewhat liked ‘The Love Punch’

BY Joanna Mendoza

Pierce Brosnan and Emma Thompson play a divorced couple in "The Love Punch," in Philippine cinemas April 19. (Photo courtesy of Axinite Digicinema)

Pierce Brosnan and Emma Thompson play a divorced couple in “The Love Punch,” in Philippine cinemas April 19. (Photo courtesy of Axinite Digicinema)

I wasn’t expecting to fall in love with The Love Punch, and I didn’t. But I was surprised that I didn’t completely hate it.

The movie, about an old divorced couple who goes after the young businessman who messed with their pension, stars Pierce Brosnan and Emma Thompson. As exciting as it was to see those two in a funny love story, the plot seemed a bit predictable to me. But hey, if I can sit through countless incarnations of young-love triangles, I can take on this one.

Here are the reasons I somewhat liked The Love Punch.

1. Emma Thompson has gotten better with age. 
I couldn’t take my eyes off her. Her hair, her clothes, her smile. She’s 54 and yet she looks even better here than she did in Love Actually, which was released 11 years ago. Still, that image of her character in bed with a man who looked old enough to be her son from an early pregnancy still kind of disturbs me.

2. Watching Pierce Brosnan and Emma Thompson banter is a refreshing break from all that YA. 
I do love the YA genre (is it really a genre?), but there’s too much of it (in the movies, on TV, in books) that it’s nice to take a break from it every once in a while. And what better way to take a breather than to watch these two vets prove that just because you’re older doesn’t mean you can’t be cute.

3. There were eye-opening lessons about marriage. 
Thompson’s character, Kate, utters some simple but taken-for-granted tips about marriage that I told myself I’d take to heart for my own marriage, which I vow to keep forever.  I don’t really remember them except for one–liking your partner is more important than loving him–but I swear they were eureka moments.

4. Old people can be very sexy.
With Brosnan, sexy isn’t really a stretch. The way his character, Richard, stares at Kate can make the women in the audience swoon like teenagers in love.

5. Geriatric jokes never get, uh, old. 
Brosnan’s Richard sleeping all day, Thompson’s Kate struggling to keep up with the younger women at the hen party, those prostate jokes–making fun of the effects of aging is always comedy gold. (See Pixar’s Up.)

Director/Screenplay: Joel Hopkins
Stars: Emma Thompson, Pierce Brosnan, Timothy Spall, Celia Imrie
Distributor: Axinite Digicinema
Running time: 1 hr 35 min

The Love Punch, distributed locally by Axinite Digicinema, opens in Philippine cinemas April 19. 

Leave a Reply

