Memorable lines from the 2014 Oscars, Golden Globes, SAG and Critics’ Choice Awards

BY Jen T. Tuazon

Fullscreen capture 342014 94726 AM

2014 Oscar Host Ellen DeGeneres takes a selfie with Jared Leto, Jennifer Lawrence, Merryl Streep, Channing Tatum, Julia Roberts, Kevin Spacey, Brad Pitt, Lupita Nyong’o, Angelina Jolie, Peter Nyong’o and Bradley Cooper

Awards shows are always fun to watch, mostly for the red carpet arrivals and occasionally for the great speeches from the winners and spiels from the hosts and presenters. Here we’ve compiled lines we found quotable from the recent award shows  – some funny, some touching, some  inspiring – all memorable.

86th Academy Awards/Oscars
March 2, 2014
Hosted by Ellen DeGeneres

Fullscreen capture 342014 23135 AM

2014 Oscar Host Ellen DeGeneres hands out pizza to members of the award show’s audience.

“Tonight’s theme is ‘Heroes in Hollywood’ and we need heroes now more than ever. People around the world are going through hard times and movies offer us an escape, movies inspire us…I’m not saying that movies are the most important thing in the world because we all know that the most important thing is youth.” – Ellen DeGeneres

“…No, we know that the most important thing in life is love, and friendship, and family and if people don’t have those things, they usually get into show business.” – Ellen DeGeneres

“This is for the 36 million people who have lost the battle to AIDS and to those of you out there who have ever felt injustice because of who you are or who you love, tonight I stand here in front of the world with you and for you.” – Jared Leto, Best Actor in a Supporting Role for Dallas Buyers Club

“When I look down at this golden statue, may it remind me and every little child that no matter where you’re from, your dreams are valid.” – Lupita Nyong’o, Best Actress in a Supporting Role for 12 Years A Slave

Fullscreen capture 342014 14207 AM
“And [to] our girls, Katie and Annie, this song is inspired by our love for you and the hope that you never let fear or shame keep you from celebrating the unique people that you are.” – Kristen and Robert Lopez, Best Original Song for “Let It Go” for Frozen

“Mom, Dad, Jenny, sorry I made so much noise when I was growing up.” – Steven Price, Best Original Score for Gravity

“The mind of a writer can be a truly terrifying thing: isolated, neurotic, caffeine-addled, crippled by procrastination, and consumed by feelings of self-loathing and soul-crushing inadequacy. And that’s on a good day.” – Robert De Niro, presenter

Fullscreen capture 352014 14714 AM
“And perhaps to those of us in the industry who are still foolishly clinging to the idea that female films with women at the center are niche experiences, they are not. Audiences want to see them, and in fact they earn money. So the world is round, people!” – Cate Blanchett, Best Actress in a Leading Role for Blue Jasmine

“There are three things  to my count that I need each day. One, I need something to look up to, another to look forward to, and another is someone to chase.

“First off, I want to thank God because that’s who I look up…To my family  that’s who and what I look forward to. …And to my hero. That’s who I chase. When I was 15 years old I had a very important person in my life come to me and say ‘Who’s your hero?’ And I said ‘I don’t know, I’m gonna have to think about that, give me a couple of weeks.’ And I come back two weeks later and this person said ‘Who’s your hero?’ and I said, ‘I thought about it and it’s me in ten years. So I turned 25 ten years later and that same person comes to me and goes, ‘So, are you a hero?’ I said, ‘Not even close!’ She said why and I said, ‘My hero is me at 35.’ You see, every day, and every week, and every month, and every year of my life my hero is always ten years away. I’m never going to be my hero. I’m not going to attain that and that’s fine with me because it keeps me with somebody to keep on chasing. So to any of us, whatever those things are and whatever it is we look up to, whatever it is we look forward to and whoever it is we’re chasing, to that I say ‘Amen,’ to that I say, ‘alright, alright, alright.’ And just keep living.” – Matthew McConaughey, Best Actor in a in a Leading Role for Dallas Buyers Club

“Everyone deserves not just to survive, but to live. This is the most important legacy of Solomon Northup. I dedicate this award to all the people who have endured slavery and to the 21 million people who still suffer slavery today.” – Director Steve McQueen, Best Picture for 12 Years A Slave

71st Annual Golden Globes
January 12, 2014
Hosted by Amy Poehler and Tina Fey

Fullscreen capture 342014 93806 AM

2014 Golden Globes hosts Tina Fey and Amy Poehler

Gravity is nominated for best film. It’s a story of how George Clooney would rather float away into space and die than spend one more minute with a woman his own age.” – Tina Fey

“Even the most deft pen is a clumsy tool. And yet we still try for magic. Thanks for letting me try all over your movie.”- Alex Ebert, Best Original Score for All is Lost

“This really is personal for us, very very personal. This man turned our life upside down, right side up. A man who refused to hate, not because he didn’t have rage or anger or these things, but that he thought love would do a better job. And we wrote a love story, or a love song rather, because it’s kind of what’s extraordinary about the film is it is this kind of dysfunctional love story. And that’s why you should see it. You know about the global statesman, but you don’t know about the man. We wrote it. We’re good at the dysfunctional love stories.” – Bono (on Nelson Mandela), Best Original Song for “Ordinary Love” for Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom

Fullscreen capture 342014 24146 AM
“Thank you so much for letting the world know that a princess can punch and wear a low-cut gown.” – Amy Adams (to Director David Russell), Best Actress in a Motion Picture-Musical or Comedy for American Hustle

“Dying is easy. Comedy is hard.” – Jim Carrey, presenter

“One of the nice things about writing or any art is that if the thing’s real, it just kind of lives. All the success over it or the rejection, none of that really matters because in the end, the thing will survive or not survive on its merits.” – Diane Keaton quoting Woody Allen, recipient of the Cecil B. DeMille Award

“And now, like a supermodel’s vagina, let’s all give a warm welcome to Leonardo DiCaprio.” – Tina Fey

“Sandra, I want to thank you for not quitting when you thought that I had told you, ‘Sandra, I’m going to give you herpes,’ when I really meant to say, ‘Sandra, I’m going to give you an earpiece.” – Alfonso Cuaron (to Sandra Bullock), Best Director, Motion Picture for Gravity

Fullscreen capture 342014 24512 AM
“First and foremost I have to thank Mr. Martin Scorsese. Thank you for allowing me to stalk you into making this movie. I grew up in a generation of actors that revered your work. We all did. You influenced everybody in this room. You’re not only an incredible visionary, but you put the very fabric of our culture up onscreen. And you’re a risk taker, and you’re a visionary. And as the history of cinema unfolds, you’ll be regarded as one of the great artists of our time. Thank you for your mentorship and thank you for encouraging me to take risks in this movie.” – Leonardo DiCaprio, Best Actor in a Motion Picture-Musical or Comedy for The Wolf of Wall Street

“I almost went to med school, but I decided to do this. This is way better, way better than saving a human life.” – Daniel Goor, Best TV Series-Musical or Comedy for Brooklyn Nine-Nine

“This is unexpected, but graciously accepted…A time like this, makes me want to say thank you to my mother, for this reason: when we were growing up, we weren’t movie kids, we weren’t TV kids, we weren’t even media kids. If it was daylight, you had to be outside playing, and we were like, ‘Why mom, why can’t we watch 30 minutes of TV?’ and she was like ‘Don’t watch somebody on TV, do it for you, get out there and do it for yourself.’ And now, this many years later, I’m like, ‘That’s a pretty good recipe for an actor, to go be the subject of whatever you’re doing.’ So thank you mom for that…This film was never about dyin, it was always about livin. With that, I say ‘just keep.’” – Matthew McConaughey, Best Actor in a Motion Picture-Drama for Dallas Buyers Club

20th Screen Actors Guild Awards
January 18, 2014

Fullscreen capture 342014 24715 AM
“My dad, I called him, he was the first person I called when I got this role. And I said to him ‘Daddy, do you know Brad Pitt? I’m going to be in a movie with him!” He said “I don’t know him personally, but I’m glad you got a job.” So am I, So am I!” – Lupita Nyong’o, Outstanding Performance by a Female Actor in a Supporting Role for 12 Years A Slave

“The truth is, and you know it, I am not here without Matt Damon. Matt Damon had the courage to stand by early on in this part. While I was sick, we had to wait for another year [to start shooting], and Matt was there. It’s really the joy of acting and Matt, this is yours too, you know that.” – Michael Douglas, Outstanding Performance by a Male Actor in a TV Movie or Miniseries for Behind the Candelabra

“To those who voted for me, thank you. And to those who didn’t, better luck next year.” – Cate Blanchett, Outstanding Performance by a Female Actor for Blue Jasmine

“Much is asked of us and if we deliver, much is returned.” – Bradley Cooper, Outstanding Cast in a Motion Picture for American Hustle

19th Critics’ Choice Awards
January 16, 2014
Hosted by Aisha Tyler

Fullscreen capture 342014 92644 AM
“We’re the lowest grossing film trilogy in cinema history.” – Ethan Hawke, with Julie Delpy and Richard Linklater, recipients of the Louis XIII Genius Award for the Before Sunrise, Before Sunset, and Before Midnight trilogy

“Thank you to my parents. I thank you and I simultaneously apologize to you about everything I did in this movie.” – Leonardo DiCaprio, Best Actor in a Comedy for The Wolf of Wall Street

“We had wanted to do a movie for kids of all ages, a movie about love. And not prince-charming-rescuing-a-damsel-in-distress [love], but true love: a love between family, and a love that you earn.” – Director Chris Buck, Best Animated Feature for Frozen

Leave a Reply

