WELCOME to our happy place

BY Joanna Mendoza

Here at The Movie Clubbers, we can shamelessly show appreciation for any movie we liked–even those that critics bashed. (Photo courtesy of http://www.sxc.hu)

Here at The Movie Clubbers, we can shamelessly show appreciation for any movie we liked — even those that critics bashed. (Photo courtesy of http://www.sxc.hu)

I find that critics are sometimes a little too hard on movies. Don’t you?

Say Star Trek Into Darkness. I absolutely loved it. And so did many non-critics I know. So I went positively livid when someone at work told me that, after reading some negative reviews, he realized the sequel wasn’t as good as he originally felt it was.

"Star Trek Into Darkness" is one of my favorite 2013 releases so far.

“Star Trek Into Darkness” is one of my favorite 2013 releases so far. (Photo courtesy of Paramount Pictures)

If someone who enjoyed the movie was so easily converted by critics, then all the more easily will people who have yet to see it be discouraged from actually watching it. I feel really bad for people who didn’t see Into Darkness in theaters, especially in IMAX.

Don’t get me wrong. I do love reading movie reviews. But sometimes they make me feel ashamed for liking certain things.

Despite the negative reviews, I enjoyed Iron Man 2 more than I did the original. (Photo courtesy of Marvel/Paramount Pictures)

Despite the negative reviews, I enjoyed “Iron Man 2” more than I did the original. (Photo courtesy of Marvel/Paramount Pictures)

For example, I liked Iron Man 2 better than its predecessor. I went to its local advanced screening and I was among the first in the world to have seen it. Right away, I told my friends and colleagues how it was so much better than the first one. A few days later, when the film finally opened in the U.S., the critics bashed it. No one accused me of having bad taste, but I admit that as I was reading the reviews in my cubicle, my face progressively went super red. The worst thing about it was, because they had read the reviews before seeing the movie, my friends thought it was a bad movie, too.

Here at The Movie Clubbers, there’s no judgement on anybody’s taste. We’re not saying we’ll love all the movies we’ll see (Sharknado, anyone?), just that we won’t be unfairly hard on really big mainstream movies (unless they’re irredeemably bad), like most critics — good and bad — are wont to do. Here we get to give our take on movies without over-thinking or unnecessarily stressing over it. After all, this is our happy place. And it’s yours, too!

Leave a Reply

